Visit Albuquerque prohibits users from downloading images from our website.

Please use our media library for downloadable images and usage rights.



Welcome to Albuquerque!

On behalf of the city of Albuquerque and the University of New Mexico, the state's flagship university, we are proud to host the 2015 NCAA Division I Mountain Region Cross Country Championships.

The true Southwest awaits you in Albuquerque. Come immerse yourself in our rich culture and heritage, rooted in centuries of history. From the neon lights of Route 66 through Nob Hill, to the variety of shops in Old Town where our city began, you will find experiences to suit all tastes. Our distinctive architecture, local foods spiced with red or green chiles, mild climate and endless horizon will enchant you. 

Be sure to stop by our visitor information centers at the Albuquerque International Sunport (baggage claim level) or in Old Town for your complimentary Albuquerque Visitors Guide, maps and brochures.

Visit the beautiful University of New Mexico campus

Founded in 1889 as New Mexico's flagship institution, the University of New Mexico now occupies nearly 800 acres along old Route 66. The Pueblo Revival style of campus buildings echo nearby Pueblo Indian villages. The nationally recognized campus arboretum and the popular duck pond offer an outstanding botanical experience in the midst of one of New Mexico's great public open spaces. 

The Mile High Cross Country

The NCAA Division I Mountain Region Cross Country Championships will see athletes from 21 schools across the region compete to earn their team a ticket to the NCAA National Cross Country Championships in Louisville, KY. At an elevation of 5000ft, the men will cover the testing 10km route around the UNM North golf course, with rolling hills and switchback turns. The women will race 6km of the course. Having only raced over shorter distances so far this season (8km - men and 5km - women), this course will require extra endurance and strength from the runners. The top 5 runners from each school will earn points for the team based on their finishing position, and with just seconds separating the top runners, every position counts. 
Women's race at 12pm 
Men's race at 1pm 
NCAA is a registered trademark of the National Collegiate Athletic Association.