Back To Previous

Brass, Winds, & Bach's Air


The NMPhil winds and brass step out to warm this midwinter afternoon! Dvořák’s Serenade for Winds, scored for two oboes, two clarinets, two bassoons, three French horns, cello, and double bass is both lyrical and intensely beautiful. French horns and trumpets stand out in Crespo’s rollicking Spirit of Brass. Breathe in the beauty of Bach’s “Air on the G String.” Then—four trumpets, four trombones, horn, and tuba frame Jan Koetsier’s Brass Symphony—a masterpiece of the brass repertoire. Finally, two gorgeous 16th-century Gabrieli Canzons.


Roberto Minczuk Music Director

Dvořák Serenade for Winds
Beethoven Octet for Winds
Crespo Spirit of Brass
J.S. Bach (arr. Allen) “Air on the G String”
Koetsier Brass Symphony
Gabrieli Canzon in echo duodecimi toni à 10, Ch. 180
Gabrieli Canzon septimi toni No. 2